Bruno Mars – 24K Magic The Album Review [not really a review]

Image result for bruno mars-24k magic album

Been aching to check out this album from December 2016. Since the premiere of 24K Magic; the song in October, Bruno has been on my mind. Some call him the new MJ, James Brown or Prince but in my opinion he is a blend of all those artists. He is one of the most underrated artists of our time who rarely gets due credit but my hope is that is about to change. Truth be told I am obsessed with his live performances and have been watching and re-watching all of them tat a bit to many times.

The 24K Magic album fuses sounds from the 80s and 90s. Each song for me feels like a song you have heard before but with a new twist that is so good to the ear. This for me has to be his best album yet. The third time is a charm, they say! The first drop 24K Magic initially sounded like an improved Uptown funk which grew on me so FAST. Chunky  is the ultimate disco song and I could already picture the 90s dance floor on the video.

Perm is my favorite. Witty and so fast you just wanna jam to it. And the lyrics are so on point. Just wanna lay back. That’s how I like It will grow on you. Mars sweetly veils any explicit content in the entire album that you may not realize as you sing along.

Versace on the floor and the Babyface collabo Too good to say Goodbye are those slow songs in the album that remind you of “It Will Rain” or better yet “When I was your Man”. I love the Bruno that sings as well as when grooving. He pushes limits with his vocal range and boy has pipes for days! That’s why he is a mixture of all the legends for me. And to think he was “scared” to work on new music!

The awesomeness does not stop there, from Finesse, Calling all my Lovelies to Straight Up and Down, Mars is the true definition of talent. Check the album out albeit late.

From an Elvis impersonator to the world stage, I like me this new Mars sound. Ooh and one live performance I can’t get over yet, Bruno performing Gorilla at the 2013 MTV VMAs;

Leave a comment