My Top Tracks – April 2020

Late post – three years later. I just found this in my drafts, so here it goes! 

Music_

Well, my first post of 2020 here was so optimistic. I had all these goals to hit before the end of the year, and I’m sure so did you. We just got through the 68 days of March, longer than any January I have ever seen. In between the outbreak of coronavirus, which so far has almost half of the world in lockdown, my paranoia has been at an all-time high! There is fear of looming economic hard times, job cuts, and all the negative stuff,

With all this going down and working from home, music still remains the biggest “light at the end of the tunnel”. Here are some jams that are keeping me going, some not so new but worth a listen!

Bensoul – Niombee 

Released in November 2019, this jam was so different in comparison to Bensoul‘s previous releases since his signing to Sol Generation Records. In “Niombee”, he talks about his journey, from when he grew up in Embu to his current status as a superstar. My favorite part is the 2nd verse with the choir kinda feel, followed by the guitar solo! It is a special song, especially during this time we need to pray for each other.

Sauti Sol -Suzanna 

SENJE!!! Took a day or two to grow on me. Now, I can’t get enough. Polycarp and the guitar riffs kickstart the jam. This feel-good jam dropped in Feb 2020 as the 1st track of their upcoming album – Midnight Train. The video, directed by Leki Alaba Isama, was shot in Lagos, Nigeria. Adopting the 70s and 80s style, the video brings the old school vibes and vintage African style and culture. The jam came through right with the news of their signing to Universal Music Africa.

One month since its release, the video has already garnered more than 6 million views on YouTube. The only way is up!

Chris Kaiga – Chain Chain

Some would say the Gengetone era is over. So many groups came up last year, armed with some of the most ratchet lyrics but which turned out to be a blessing as Kenyan music was back on high rotation. One man has managed to stand the test of time, considering the fact that he is doing it alone. Chris Kaiga of the “Zimenice” fame dropped “Chain Chain” and “Next” earlier this year. The intro on “Chain Chain” sends you straight to the dance floor. “Mali safi iende chain chain”. I can’t wait to go back outside for at least one concert.

WurlD x Sarz – Sade

One of the best collaborative EP I have heard this far. Released in November 2019, I Love Girls With Trobul (ILGWT)  is a joint project by multi-talented Nigerian-American singer/songwriter and producer WurlD and one of the baddest producers in Arica- Sarz. The 8-track project is the perfect Afro-Pop record. With joints such as “Trobul”, “Mad”, “Ego”, “Focus”, my favorite is “Sade”. You gotta listen to the live production elements on this song. The video is not yet out, so enjoy this!

With two EPs already out in 2019, WurlD is one artist you should not sleep on!

Jhene Aiko – Triggered

Queen of the toxic women, they call her! Jhene is so sweet yet so rude and in control at the same time. She dropped her new album “Chilombo” in March 2020 and I’m still torn on a favorite jam on the record. One day I love, “Triggered”, the next day I am into “Tryna Smoke”, “HOE”, “B.S”,  “Pu$$y Fairy” so much more. This is the album I listen to when I am working from home or a random Friday when am just feeling the vibes. Quick trick you can listen to it on YouTube, all the audios are there.

H_art The Band – Elshaddai

“Made In The Streets” was my favorite Kenyan album all of 2019. Such a masterpiece and relatable. Of course, you can’t go through the album without this heartfelt jam “Elshaddai”. Produced by Cedo, this song and video simply talks about what we are all going through and the hope that #ItakuwaFine – All will be well! The song was written by H_art The Band and Bensoul. You also can’t downplay the role of Cedo in the production of this jam!

On repeat!

Coldplay – Paradise

The only song that makes me cry to date! “Paradise” serves as my reminder that I need to at least see Coldplay live in my lifetime. A plan and goal when the world gets back to normal. The music video still gets to me, so I am over-watching it on some days.

DaBaby – BOP on Broadway (Hip Hop Musical)

One of my favorite artists of 2019! Off the album “Kirk,” this music video got me learning some dance moves during this stay-at-home period. The video features a flash mob and the sleek American dance crew, the Jabbawockeez.

These are just a few of my favorite bops at the moment. I am getting to discover more new music and reconnecting with my old playlists. During these tough times, let music be your guide!

Leave a comment