The Mind of a Creative[Part 1]

Image result for the mind of a creative person

It took me a while to realize why my mind was always too active especially when it comes to artistic matters. I was a normal student in high school performing well in the arts but I never thought much about it until after campus. I toyed with the idea of taking Law but dropped that and did BSc Agribusiness Management. But all this time, my brain has always been focused on other activities that I often dismissed as hobbies. I wanted to write, sing, blog, study German to an advanced level, write songs and sing some more.

I learned that the mind of a creative can take a while to settle on one thing taking into account that I get lost in deciding what I want to do first. And it gets serious and scary especially when you hit the quarter of a century and you don’t seem settled like the rest of your peers who are already on a steady career path.

Creatives do not fancy been normal. For instance, normal careers, stuck up routines, cliches of life that society dictates and will rebel a lot in a bid to have their way. This shapes a lot of the decisions they make that are often frowned upon by what is accepted to be “normal”. Normal becomes boring so fast that we lose interest and want to move to something else real quick.

Taking risks is part of their DNA. For some, it may take a lot of thought and fear before taking that leap of faith but in the long run, it comes to pass. Personally, I never thought it was possible to even walk out of a well-paying job in a corporate without another job until I did. As I called it then, “the alter ego overwriting the normal you”. The benefits eventually outweigh the risk, am living proof [not to brag].

Image result for the mind of a creative person

One too many times, I find myself confused over what to do first. One skill I learned from a “Passion to Profit for Women in the Creative Sector forum” I attended last year is to put down a plan that acts as a guide. It worked for me last year, and only did not achieve one item which I am still working on. In a nutshell, this gives you a clarity of purpose while keeping you on your toes. So I am motivated to tackle that one last item and “tidy up my rack”.

Managing a creative mind takes a lot of willpower and strength. Your friends and family will think you are crazy at some point and most will not understand your choices. Break it down in the simplest form and slowly by slowly everyone [or to be safe] a couple of them will crack what you do and why you do it. Happy Creating!

Miss Mugwe

Leave a comment